Here’s to New Beginnings!

January 1, 2017

Isaiah 43:18-19  (New Living Translation- let’s be honest; it’s easier to understand)       “But forget all that- it is nothing compared to what I am going to do.  For I am about to do something new.  See, I have already begun!  Do you not see it?  I will make a pathway through the wilderness.  I will create rivers in the dry wasteland.”

As we’re entering the beginning of another year, everyone’s New Year’s resolutions are everywhere.  Yes, I posted one too.  It was to spend more time with the Lord.  As readers of my blog, you’re helping to hold me accountable to do my devotional- so thank you for that! We are all analyzing what we aren’t exactly proud of that we’ve done in the past.  We want to be better.

If you’re like I am, it’s such an encouragement to be reminded that God is “continually working newness into your life….I am a God of unlimited creativity…” (page 2 of Jesus Always.  If you haven’t gotten this awesome devotional yet, get it!)  All I could think when I read that was “wow”.

Psalm 118:24  “This is the day the Lord has made.  We will rejoice and be glad in it.”

Psalm 16:11  “You will show me the way of life, granting me the joy of your presence and the pleasures of living with you forever.”

We seem to continually try to plan each and every moment of every day.  We want to act like we have control.  We want to think that we know what’s going to happen.  We set expectations.  We forget that God is absolutely limitless in what He can do in our lives and with our lives.  Why do we think that we are capable of understanding God’s plan?  The same God who brought the dead back to life and who gave sight to the blind can surely provide for my daily needs.  Even through my worry and doubt, He has proven to me time and time again that He will provide for my daily needs.  How much more at peace would I be if I trusted God with everything, if I remembered that He is constantly forming something new and wonderful in my life?

“The present moment is where I meet with you, beloved.  So seek My face throughout this day that I have made…I have carefully prepared it for you- with tender attention to every detail”.  I so often forget that God is always with us.  Always.  Every little, and big, experience we have during the day is a gift from God.  He has a plan and a reason for everything that happens.  We might not understand each part of His plan, but we have to trust Him and thank Him for our lives, for what’s happening.  Each breath we take is a gift.  God has a purpose for every second of your day.

“I believe that You are God alone, but sometimes I still try to take control cause I get scared when I can’t see the end.  And all You want from me is to let go.  You’re parting waters, making a way for me.  You’re moving mountains that I don’t even see.  You’ve answered my prayer before I even speak.  All you need for me to be is still.”

-Still, by Hillary Scott and The Scott Family

3 thoughts on “Here’s to New Beginnings!

Leave a comment